Luk Arbuckle

Top 50 health informatics blogs (according to Healthtechtopia)

In blog on 4 January 2010 at 12:01 am

I received an email informing me that my blog was included in a list of top stats blogs useful to people interested in health informatics.  The following is the relevant excerpt from the full list of health informatics blogs.

Stats is very important when it comes to health informatics. Here are some good statistics blogs to help you with your health informatics learning.

  1. Fishing in the Bay: These are “statistical musings” with a medical twist.
  2. Data Sciences Analytics: Learn about the science of data, and how it is used in a variety of ways.
  3. Analytic Bridge: Using information and statistics for analysis.
  4. Statistical Modeling, Causal Inference, and Social Science: A helpful blog about using statistics to create models and make assessments.
  5. Social Science Statistics Blog: Learn about stats from Harvard.
  6. Lies and Stats: It’s been a while since this blog was updated, but it still has a great deal of useful information about how statistics are used.
  7. Overcoming Bias: Learn how to use data and how to overcome the biases that may be in that data.
  8. The Endeavor: A great blog that includes statistics posts and information.

I have no idea who updates the health informatics blog, nor am I in anyway affiliated with them.  It’s just a nice reminder and motivator for me to start writing blog posts again.

While on the topic, I decided to look at my blog stats, and was surprised to learn that my blog more than doubled in views from the month of my last post (in February 2009) to the next.  It even maintained a steady number of hits per month, even though I haven’t been adding anything to it!  Interestingly, note that hits seem to increase before fall and winter exams.

Visits to this blog by month (since May 2008).

Visits to this blog by month (since May 2008).

Since this is a blog post originally about a list, and we’ve moved on to discuss my blog stats, how about my top five posts for 2009 (by title and number of views in 2009), which also surprised me a bit:

Clearly there are some things that are searched for on a regular basis, and maybe I can come up with a few more popular items while I’m tutoring stats this term. But I don’t think I could ever have predicted this top list, so I’ll probably just write topics of interest as they come up. Happy 2010!

  1. We wanted to let you know that your blog was included in our list of the top 50 statistics blogs of 2011. Our goal was to highlight blogs that students and prospective students will find useful and interesting in their exploration of the field.

    You can view the entire list at http://www.thebestcolleges.org/best-statistics-blogs/

    Congratulations!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 26 other followers

